On Friday

  • My country held a fitting hommage to the victims of the Paris attacks two weeks ago.
Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 12.31.32

France Nov 27. 2015

  • It was my birthday.
  • I had dinner with my delightful (almost) teenage son.Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 12.55.01
  • It snowed hard on the mountains.

Sorry about being so flaky in my blogging over the last couple of months, thank you for the lovely emails asking if I was ok. Life has been busy, complex, filled with horror and hope… Well, it’s been life, really.

More to come, but in the meantime, I dedicate this post to all the people who tirelessly spread compassion… and to COP 21. May it succeed in bringing enough of us together.

Adele – Hello

7 thoughts on “On Friday

  1. Thank goodness you’re back. I felt we were on the cusp of a new friendship, and then you went MIA.
    I am so sorry for what Paris and France is going through. My thoughts and prayers have been there often.
    I look forward to more of your writing.

    • Dear Judith, I have been catching up with your blog, and am so, so sorry for your loss…
      It seems so unfair from the outside that you would have to go through bereavement yet again. I find your attitude an inspiration, what an amazing, resilient lady you are! xoxo

    • Dear Elizabeth, thank you for the support. Everyone seems to be coping in a different way. For my part, I refuse to give in to fear and anger. I refuse to feel helpless and suspicious of others.
      I have carried on living in exactly the same way, and made a point of being even more kind to the muslim parents at my daughter’s school, for times are especially hard for them.
      I will be spending Xmas at my parents in Paris, and intend to shop, visit cinemas and museums even more than I normally do. Ha!
      Because Paris should be about beauty, light and fun.
      On a lighter note, I was delighted to read about your progress: There’s such strength coming through your lines nowadays, it’s amazing!
      Take care x

  2. I feel bad, for some reason, that it was your birthday and I couldn’t wish you a happy birthday on here. I wrote about the Paris horror on my blog and I, along with most of the world, am still shaking my head over that one. I’m sort of looking forward to Christmas but my heart is a little weighed down with worries of this sort these days

Leave a Reply

