Who knows?

No job under the tree this year

No job under the tree this year

I hang up after a few more polite thank-yous, and just sit at my desk, stunned.

The thing is, that I had become really excited about the prospect of my very own, much coveted, Christmas present: A permanent, well-paid position, with a good strategic slant and room for development, all wrapped with a shiny bow, and my name on it…  After three interviews and enthusiastic feedback, I had rather foolishly allowed myself to believe in Santa.

Triple pants!

It’s no consolation that I apparently missed the job by a thread, I feel like rolling on the floor and kicking: Not fair!

So it’s back to square one, to my upcoming six months contract on a laughable wage, having to scrimp on Christmas presents, and constantly worry about the future.

Ooh, and just to make it clear: I’ll punch anyone who dares utter something along the lines of “onwards and upwards”, or “something else will come along”. Ha!

Alright, alright, perhaps, I am reluctantly aware that my situation is not a dent on err… , say South Sudan, but still, being a grown-up sucks sometimes.

And the confidence bubble that had for a while lifted the fog, and put my relationship with Mr Xmas back on sunnier tracks has kind of popped. I am back to doubt, not knowing what I want, or where to go.

Right, methinks it’s time for an old classic by The La’s because really, who the f***k knows what the future holds?

Anyway, come on, give me your ideas of songs that can bring a smile to your face when you’re feeling down?

The La’s – Who knows?

6 thoughts on “Who knows?

  1. Nothing like a bit of Monty Python’s Always Look On the Bright Side of Life 😉 It’s so ridiculous it cannot fail to make you see the lighter side xxx

  2. I wish I had a song for you. I seem to find sadness these days in every song I hear! Blah to me!

    Yes, being a grown up sucks sometimes so much!!!

    I look forward to reading more. You sound like a resilient person.

  3. Sometimes life sucks and then there is music if no laughter and dance. The only thing I can offer is “You never know” which can be either good or bad, but in your case I hope it is very good because I rather like you 🙂

Leave a Reply

