Weather

Overnight, the-30°C-blue-sky weather has turned to rain, mountains all but vanished into the clouds. Exactly the kind of overnight change, which seems to be all the rage in my Summer-Autumn 2014 life collection…

Three months ago, my two children and step-son all feverishly bickered over Panini stickers for their football world cup albums, while Mr Nice mourned France’s demise in the quarter finals (which was obviously solely due to undeserved bad luck – nothing to do with skill). The school year was in its dying days, and everyone looked forward to a fairly predictable Summer of family fun at the beach, catching up with relatives, and general winding down.

But then, the weather refused to acknowledge that Summer had arrived, and remained sullen, cool and wet.

Mr Nice flipped. In the space of weeks, what had once been us, became an empty shell.

Two months ago, on a beautiful sunny day, we called it a day, turning both ours and the children’s lives upside down.

Overnight, Mr Nice became a peculiar stranger. I struggled for breath.

A month ago, as Summer refused to give way to Autumn, a steady pair of arms caught me for what must have been the hundredth time as I fell apart.

And I decided to stay there for a while…

To Mister Xmas

Fauve – Lettre à Zoé

3 thoughts on “Weather

  1. I can’t get my head round how Mr Nice turned into Mr Ambiguous or whatever, but no-doubt you can’t either. Personally speaking, I’m very pleased to have you back in Blogland, but I wish the cost to you had not been so high

  2. Dear Peter, I cannot get my head around it either. It’s such a disappointment …
    As for being back in blogland, I have to say that I enjoy writing (and reading) again. That’s one silver lining I suppose. PS. I’m amazed by how productive and more confident you have become. It’s lovely !

Leave a Reply

