My very own mid-life crisis

Eye shot

Image via Wikipedia

The sun is on my neck, and I feel incredibly drowsy.

After ten days apart, Mr Nice and I have been errr … catching up this week, and seeing each other every spare minute that work, kids and life left us, which means very few daytime minutes and world-class bags under our eyes.

I am also feeling curiously torn between two diametrically opposed aspects of my personality.

On the one hand, in case you had any doubts, I am a highly dull, anxious and responsible adult, holding down a demanding job and caring for two little kids day-in, day-out. All my life I have pretty much been a good, sensible girl, indulging in only the rarest bouts of pure lunacy mild extravagance.

However, the demented teenager in me got let loose about a year ago, and has been rattling the cage ever since. At times, my responsibilities still feel way too heavy for one person, and I feel a compelling urge to abdicate, go mad and have mindless, selfish fun.

Where it gets even funnier, is that the demented teenager has to co-habitate with the anxious, responsible adult who is currently preoccupied with finding a zillion good reasons to not under-any-circumstances-fall-for Mr-Nice-however-nice-he-is-ha.

I tell you what, there’s a fair bit of door slamming and I-hate-yous going on in my mind at the moment…

Still, you will be pleased to know that so far, the anxious, responsible adult is still winning, and that my children have been spared the embarrassment of a mum wearing inch thick eye liner, getting loaded and clubbing every night…

Though on reflection, I may still have to wear some glittery eye shadow and dance like a maniac while I cook dinner tonight.

This is my current demented teenager dance anthem, to be listened to loud and with a LOT of bass:

The potbelleez – From the music

13 thoughts on “My very own mid-life crisis

  1. ****, I may still have to wear some glittery eye shadow and dance like a maniac while I cook dinner tonight.***

    I can see you now!

    You are a girl after my own heart…

    Xx Kisssssssssssssss

  2. lol. Sounds like my Gram and Imma on writing with both sides of my brain – opposites in the same head can be dangerous:) Every one needs to break free every now and then, though. Angie

    • Thanks abandonned barns, I’ve already been tagged by life and other misadventures, and my reply is coming up soon. šŸ™‚

  3. Dancing while cooking? I do it all the time. I have a mental image of you dancing in the kitchen with a wooden spoon in your hand, having fun. :0

  4. I love this post… Hi, nice to meet you! I’ve lurked for a while… I run out of time to read, there’s sooooo much to read on wordpress…

    Anyway, I love this post because you’re paying attention to your happy side too… we need that. šŸ™‚ Remember that, we all need to play. šŸ™‚

    • Hi MC, and yes, you’re right, my happy side is getting plenty of opportunities to express itself at the moment, which is nice.
      As for playing, well, of course you’re right…But I don’t just want to play. I want to go mad šŸ˜‰

      • LOL I’ve already gone “mad” it’s highly over rated… heheheh…

        I know what you mean though, if we don’t go mad, we actually, I think “could” go quite “mad”. Totally identify with that. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

