False-start

In spite of all I’ve said about not being ready to let someone new into my life, the last few weeks have seen me accidentally dip my toes into the exhilarating and complicated world of Seeing Someone (Mmmm, trust this girl to say one thing and do another altogether? Ahem, moving swiftly on…).

This particular someone turned out to be none other than Plaster Man, who after months of being reliably helpful and nice eventually registered on my radar of Mister-Why-Nots (the guy is really patient, and bear with me, I have a thing going on with brackets tonight…).

So I opened the door to my life a tiny crack, which immediately sent me into fits of terror (pleasant. Not), but also gave me a chance to remember the delicious lightness which comes from being showered with affection, appreciated, and the centre of someone’s attention (and that was much more pleasant, thank you very much).

In the end, it turns out that Plaster Man is still too confused after the break-up of his own marriage, to give me the attention I need in any sort of consistent way (Read: Maybe, I’m just ultra-high maintenance), and so we kind of decided to go back to being friends. As you do…No, really, as you don’t normally, but somehow we managed that in a bout of uncharacteristic maturity which still has me astonished.

Anyway, this false-start has somehow broken my resolve to wait in chaste contemplation until I am over and done with my grief. Also, between you and me, we could be here a long time otherwise…

By reminding me of all that is great about the company of a good man, and distracting me from T, Plaster Man managed to plaster a smile on my face for a while, and made me realise that there is a world out there waiting to be discovered with someone else.

To Plaster Man who is a really nice man and whose special request is Adele – Someone like you. Thank you.

(I know I already posted it last Spring but I guess we can all do with a little extra dose of this guaranteed tear-jerker)

24 thoughts on “False-start

  1. Sorry about the false start; sounds like Plaster Man has issues, but not all guys will be as silly as him.

    At least the good news is that it’s a start!

    I’m sure the very next guy will turn out to be someone worthy of your time and investment. Just be sure to pick him carefully, so I’m not wrong!

    Congratulations, SD xx.

    • SD, go easy on Plaster Man, he’s nice but as you said has issues…
      I’ll consult on my next choice to make sure you approve shall I? πŸ˜‰
      Ps. I’m not sure congratulations are in order given the pretty unglorious outcome?

  2. I agree with SD. Well done for putting a toe in the water and finding it wasn’t ice cold. That it was a lovely place to be. A good reminder

    Love the brackets (I use them all the time!)!

    Hugs

    xxx (xxx)

  3. I actually think this is a pretty common stop on the post-divorce train. πŸ™‚ Sometimes it lasts a while, sometimes not, and friendship seems to be a good and frequent outcome of those situations. One of my best guy friends was my “Rebound Man” or “Breaking The Ice Guy” or whatever label we want to use, and my friends Annie and Katrina each have one, as well. πŸ™‚ There is something truly valuable to those men — how they make you feel, what they teach or remind you about yourself, the perspective and solace they can offer during a truly painful and vulnerable time.

    I think Congratulations are definitely in order — you can choose to sit in your misery or you can choose to live your life. This is a clear, small signal of the choice you’re making. So, good for you! πŸ™‚

    • You’re right TPG, it does make me want to choose life again…
      I’ll just have to work on my self-confidence, and the ability to believe that I can be attractive to a nice AND good looking bloke…Well, especially good looking…Shallow, me? πŸ˜‰
      x
      Ps. I hope things are going well for you with mister second time round

      • I’ve never had a set list of attributes for a partner, but handsome is yummy, for sure. πŸ˜€ James used to be a body model for posters and such (no, I’m not kidding), and it’s always fun to watch other women notice and watch him. I guess I’m just petty enough to enjoy it. heehee πŸ˜‰ Although, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have liked him as much in his younger — and much wilder — days; the forty-something version is pretty perfect for me.

        And, yes, thank you for asking, things are going swimmingly. I guess you just never know….. πŸ™‚ sigh….

        • Wow, a body model for posters: Can you Fedex him to me if don’t want him anymore? πŸ˜‰

          Hope things keep going swimmingly, I guess as long as you’ve both learnt from past mistakes, it will work out.

  4. I agree I think it’s a positive step. The circumference of your new life is growing wider – and hey it’s ok to take small steps πŸ˜‰ That’s what I did, hell even with my shiny Dr Martens – love the song – one of my favourites.

    • Hey Jacqueline, well, I may have been ready to take bigger steps actually, but I’m not sure and he wasn’t… so it’s neither here nor there really…
      I just hope I can meet someone special soon if possible, in fact, I lay have to put it in my letter to Santa πŸ™‚

  5. I’m glag you managed to dip your te in the water with such a nice man, and came out of it with a greater sense of life’s future possibilities without any of the bad stuff which often comes with a shrt relationship. It speaks volumes for Plaster Man, as well as you of course

    • Yes, I guess you’re right. Shame Plaster Man’s got so many issues though, we may have been able to keep each other company for a while!

Leave a Reply

