Best intentions

Sahara

Image by cedmars via Flickr

Tonight, I was going to write something profound about the ability to let someone new into your life post-heartbreak, but I got blown by a gust of desert wind, fell off my bike, cried and phoned my mum (who must be glad I will be turning 38 before this month is out).

Then I unwittingly set up a scientific experiment involving being an รผber mum who prepares a sausage and lentil stew after the kids have gone to bed, takes a bath and has the attention span of a moth.

The riveting conclusion of this experiment is that burnt lentils smell uncannily like cigarette smoke and could well become the construction material of the future thanks to their astonishing adhesive properties.

Anyway, we are back from holiday, and have resumed school, childminder’s and work. I have been cycling to work in what felt like a giant hair-dryer as a powerful 25ยฐC Scirocco keeps blowing Saharan sand and dead leaves all over the French Alps, and my house now smells like a giant ashtray.

I am hopeful that in the next couple of days my bruises will not hurt so badly, I will not accidentally set fire to the local supermarket and you will be subjected to my profound thinking.

Meanwhile, what the funk?

17 thoughts on “Best intentions

  1. Southern women are known for saying “Bless your heart.” I try not to say it but I’m making an exception this evening: Bless your heart, Lady E. I’ve had a few bad bicycle spills and I’ve burned lentils. Heal quickly. Burn some cinnamon candles. Throw away the pot your lentils were in because it’s probably not worth cleaning as it takes a great deal of elbow grease and I think your elbow might be sore.

    Tomorrow will be a better day and I look forward to reading your profound thoughts.

    • Cheers Pat! My elbows are ok actually, but the rest of me is pretty sore this morning, ouch ๐Ÿ˜‰ !
      Thanks for the burning candles tip…
      x

  2. First, I love the song! Sometimes it’s just the right day for a song like that. I guess today was THAT kind of day for you! (Which, for you, is now YESTERDAY, just to make things complicated. — I mean, What The F…)

    Regarding the attention span, I see there must be some small mistake on your birth certificate because that is definitely the kind of thing you expect to do when you are 40 or more… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Isn’t that song great? Makes me dance around like a lunatic!
      And yep, I know, I have the memory of a goldfish too, it’s terrible, I’m 38 going on 83 really.
      xx

  3. I am in complete of of anyone that can ride a bike – I’m hopeless. I hope you heal soon. As it’s the weekend my tip for filing your house with a wonderful smell is mulled wine. Even better if you’ve got a slow cooker. Stick it in that, turn it on and a) it won’t burn, plus b) the house smells great AND best of all c) you can chill with a nice warm glass and ponder a post on letting someone into your life post heartbreak!

    Jacqueline

  4. Ah profound thoughts. usually lying in the bath, candle light. soft music…….

    And then that niggling thought that perhaps supper isn’t going to be all it was intended as the smell of something metallic and worrying wafts in.

    Too late to be rescued!

    I look forward to reading your profound thoughts when they surface!

    • Yup, that’s a fairly accurate approximation of what happened, less the candles and music, I just don’t have the time for that sort of baths after hanging the laundry, cleaning the kitchen and making sure everyone’s bags are packed for the next day…
      Anyway, profound thinking coming up…Soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I know it is not meant to be funny, but your post made me smile. You need to market the lentil glue. buy a mask for the sand and scented candles for the smoke smell (works for me and I smoke like a chimney!)

    I eagerly await your next instalment……

Leave a Reply

