Take your life and shake it hard

About a year into our relationship, and heavily pregnant, I left my whole life behind, and uprooted my England-born son to move to France. I left a good job, a home, my friends, my support network, my whole life to move in with T. He had to struggle with the scary proposition of leaving behind his day as a care-free student to become a husband, dad and step-dad all rolled into one. Times were happy but tough, and when our daughter was born, our lives had truly been shaken so hard they were unrecognisable. In spite of all this, we learnt to live together, struggled through sleep deprivation and insecurities to gradually become a new but perfectly formed family.

T used to sing our colicky baby daughter to sleep with this song  Israel Iz – Over the rainbow

One thought on “Take your life and shake it hard

  1. Pingback: England « Poor cow in France

Leave a Reply

